Things To Do

Weather and Travel

Weather Forecasts – www.lake-district.gov.uk/weatherline

Travel Information

National Rail – www.nationalrail.co.uk
Stagecoach North West – www.stagecoachbus.com

Car Hire

Enterprise – www.enterprise.co.uk

Detailed Road Maps

Googlemaps – Zoomable maps focused on an address or post code.
Multimap – up to date, printer friendly maps by postcode or town.
Streetmap – Online maps with detailed streetmaps of Great Britain.

Tours

71BBA3A3-C79D-5EC5-0DCEB3A0336E21CFLake District Tours – www.lakedistricttours.co.uk
Lakes Supertours – www.lakes-supertours.co.uk
Mountain Goat – www.mountain-goat.com
Travel Abacus Tours – www.travelabacus.co.uk

Outdoor Pursuits

71BBE72E-F465-143F-A0B0F6913FC082E8Cycling

Biketreks – Ambleside
www.biketreks.net
Get away from the busy roads and enjoy places that you may never otherwise discover.

Country Lanes – Windermere
www.countrylaneslakedistrict.co.uk
To make a reservation please telephone 015394 44544 or visit our cycle centre at Windermere Railway Station.

Lakes Riders – www.lakes-riders.co.uk
Bring your bike and be guided around the Lake District, knowing the only thing you have to do is ride your bike among the vast amount of bridleways and trails which encompass the Lakes.

Golf

Windermere Golf Club – www.windermeregolfclub.net
Carus Green Golf Club – www.carusgreen.co.uk
Kendal Golf Club – www.kendalgolfclub.co.uk
Kendal Driving Range – 015394 733933
Beckside Golf Club – 015398 21415

Horse Riding

BiglandHall Equestrian – Haverthwaite – www.biglandhall.com
Lakeland Equestrian – Windermere – www.lakelandequestrian.co.uk
Holmescale Riding Centre – Holmescale  – www.holmescalesridingcentre.co.uk
Low Farm Riding Centre, Aspatria – www.lowfarmriding.co.uk

Go Karting & Off-Roading

Big Lands – www.biglandhall.com
Greystoke Castle Estate – www.greystoke.com
Kankku – www.kankku.co.uk
Rookin House Farm – www.rookinhouse.co.uk
Pleasure in Leisure – www.pleasureinleisure.co.uk

Fishing

Fishing on Esthwaite Water – www.hawksheadtrout.com
Bigland Outdoor  Fishing – www.biglandoutdoor.co.uk

Hot Air Ballooning

High Adventure
www.high-adventure.co.uk
High Adventure Balloon Flights, provide hot air ballooning in Cumbria and the Lake District

Pendle Balloon Flights
www.pendle-balloon-flights.com
High Adventure Balloon Flights, provide hot air ballooning in Cumbria and the Lake District

Sailing

Windermere Lake Cruises – www.windermere-lakecruises.co.uk
Derwent Water Marina – www.derwentwatermarina.co.uk
Classic Cruises –

Outdoor Activities

Fire Fighter Experience – ride in fire engine – www.firefighterexperience.com

Big Land Estate – Heathwaite
www.biglandoutdoordays.co.uk
Clay Shooting, Archery, Target Shooting

Go Ape Assault Course – Grizedale Forest
www.goape.co.uk
High Wire Forest Adventure

Attractions

71BC5C60-B9A0-909E-0018F9B1BDC09301Wordsworth.org.uk – www.wordsworth.org.uk

Hill Top House – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/hilltop

Pencilmuseum.co.uk – www.pencilmuseum.co.uk

Lakeland Motor Museum* – www.lakelandmotormuseum.co.uk

Lakes Aquarium – A journey of discovery from the mountains to the sea

Abbot Hall – Fine Art in the setting of Kendal’s Finest Town House –www.abbothall.org.uk

The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction, Bowness-On-Windermere –www.hop-skip-jump.com

Fell Foot National Trust Park -Situated at the very southern tip of Lake Windermere, Fell Foot Park is a family friendly location with stunning mountain views –  www.nationaltrust.org/fell-foot-park

South Lakes Animal Park – Cumbria’s Unique Open Zoo

Brockholes Visitor Centre – www.brockhole.co.uk

Where2Walk – Full list of Lake District Walks – www.where2walk.co.uk

Beatrix Potter Attraction – Windermere
Blackwell the Arts and Craft House – Gallery and tea rooms in Bowness on Windermere

Cars of the Stars – Keswick
Cumberland Pencil Museum – Keswick

DoveCottage – Grasmere – HomeofWordsworth

Hill Top House Near Sawrey – Beatrix Potter’s Home where she did much of her writing
Holker Hall & Gardens – Historic House and Gardens – www.holker-hall.co.uk
Honister Mines

Lakeland Minature Village, – Flookburgh
Lakeland Motor Museum at Holker Hall
Lakeside & Haverthwaite Steam Railway – Enjoy  a ride on one of the last Furness Railway Branch Lines
Low Sizergh Barn – Visit the farm shop, tea room, craft gallery and farm trail on our organic dairy farm near the Lake District National Park.
Low Wood Water Sports Centre

Mirehouse
Muncaster Castle/Gardens/ Owl Centre – www.muncaster.co.uk
Historic haunted castle/Himalayan Gardens/HQ of World Owl Centre

Ravenglass & Eskdale Steam Railway – www.ravenglass-railway.co.uk
Rheged Centre Exhibitions/Workshops/Crafts – Pernrith – www.rheged.com

Rum Story – Whitehaven – www.rumstory.co.uk
Imagine leaving the streets of our Georgian town centre and feeling like you have been transported to an exotic island in the Caribbean. That is what you will experience when you begin your journey through The Rum Story.

Sellafield Visitor Centre
South Lakes Wild Animal Park

The Gincase – Silloth on Solway – Farmhouse tearoom, craft barn, gallery and farm park

Windermere Steam Boat Museum – Windermere – www.steamboat.co.uk

Lake District Walks and Walking Holidays UK – Walking, walks, walk routes and holidays in the Lake District UK (contained on bed searcher)

Mountain-Bike-Cumbria – If you are coming to ride your bike in Cumbria or already live here and would like to know more, we can show you the available mountain biking in this area.” or a shorter version “Showing photos from around the lakes, information and more!”

The English Lake District – A tourist guide to England’s Lake District in the most visited corner of the UK

Lakestay – Provides information and history on the Lake District

Cumbria Tourism Web Site – www.golakes.co.uk

Central Lake District Bookshops, iknow-lakedistrict.co.uk

Lake District Wedding Photographer – Russell Colman